Return to the City of Greater Geraldton home page

Mid West Art Prize 2019

Finalists announced! The highly anticipated Mid West Art Prize will return to the Geraldton Regional Art Gallery on 16 February 2019, with the entries for artists having closed on 30 November 2018. The biennial prize is open to artists residing throughout Western Australia and boasts more than $29,000 in prize money across a number of award categories.

The 2019 Mid West Art Prize awards and prizes will include:

  • City of Greater Geraldton Overall Award for Excellence $20,000
  • Rio Tinto Midwest Aboriginal Art Award $3,500
  • RED FM Youth Award $3,500
  • Incite Security Midwest Artist Award $1000
  • Local Member (MLA) Ian Blayney People’s Choice Award $1,500

This year’s selection panel consisting of our Coordinator of the Geraldton Regional Art Gallery, Sara Walker; the Curator of Mundaring Arts Centre and Midland Junction Arts Centre, Greg Sikich; and the Chief Cultural Officer of the UWA Cultural Precinct, Ted Snell; recently convened to make the final selection for 2019. From 254 entries a fine selection of 72 have been chosen.

The Geraldton Regional Art Gallery would like to congratulate the Mid West Art Prize finalists for 2019:

Behzad Alipour
Helen Ansell
Basil Antonas
Stephen Armitstead
Marina  Baker
Luke Barlow
Gemma Ben-Ary
Noah Birch
Saskia Blake
Suzanne Blake
Jeremy Blank
Sam Bloor
Lynnette Bowron
Julie-Ann Brown
Elliot Brown
Zac Bruce
Dan Burke
Emma Buswell
Christophe Canato
Charlene Carrington
Jeana Castelli
Susanna Castleden
Mikaela Castledine
Doreen Chapman
Olga Cironis
Helen Clarke
Colin Clarke
Corban Clause Williams
Jennifer Cochrane
Samuel Combes
Shelley Cowper
Debbie Crothers
Jo Darbyshire
Adam Derums
Nicole Dickerson
Roger Dickinson
Jonathan du Boulay
Joanne Duffy
Loretta Egan
Cam Fitzgerald
Tom Freeman
Lynda Fynn Dickinson
Jodie Groves
Donelle Halligan
Leon Holmes
Bevan Honey
Lexie Lazenby
Camilla  Loveridge
Nikki Lundy
Elisa Markes-Young
Jarrad Martyn
Lia McKnight
Michelle McKoy
Tyron Merritt
Roy Merritt
Sarah Mills
Mark Miragliotta
Mark Nodea
Geoff Overheu
Denise Pepper
Andy Quilty
Bjoern Rainer-Adamson
Tracey Ramsay
Anna Louise Richardson
Paul Scott
Nicole Slatter
Bruce Slatter
Wade Taylor
Sarah Thornton-Smith
William Upchurch
Joie Villeneuve
Rachel Weaver